Skip to content

Nigeria reveals Afcon 2021 team

Nigeria reveals its Afcon 2021 team list with Nigeria’s Augustine Eguavoen, former professional footballer and manager of Nigeria, saying Napoli’s Osimhen and Everton’s Iwobi will be present.

The Italy-based striker, Osimhen, will be travelling to Cameroon in January where many hope he will have recovered from his recent eye injury. (Read about it here: Victor Osimhen gets face bashed in during match causing severe facial injury Victor Osimhen)

Coach Augustine announced his final 28-man Nigerian squad for the 2021 African Cup of Nations with prominent inclusions like Victor Osimhen, Odion Ighalo and Alex Iwobi.

Villarreal star Samuel Chukwueze, captain Ahmed Musa and the duo of Leon Balogun and William Troost-Ekong made the cut alongside Francis Uzoho as well as Torino’s Ola Aina.

Kelechi Nwakali, Spain-based Sadiq Umar and Orlando Pirates’ Olisa Ndah are surprise inclusions, while Eguavoen opted just for one local-based professional – John Noble – who represents two-time African kings Enyimba. wrote,’ all invited players are expected to arrive in camp in Abuja on 29th December, with the UK-based players expected to start arriving on Monday, January 3.’

READ MORE: Africa Cup of Nations to take away 40 key Premier League players of African descent, we have a list

Africa’s most expensive player – biography, family, football career, siblings, relationship


Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho (AC Omonia, Cyprus); John Noble (Enyimba FC); Daniel Akpeyi (Kaizer Chiefs, South Africa); Maduka Okoye (Sparta Rotterdam, The Netherlands)

Defenders: Chidozie Awaziem (Alanyaspor FC, Turkey); Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Leon Balogun (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland); William Ekong (Watford FC, England); Olaoluwa Aina (Torino FC, Italy); Jamilu Collins (SC Paderborn 07, Germany); Abdullahi Shehu (AC Omonia, Cyprus); Zaidu Sanusi (FC Porto, Portugal); Olisa Ndah (Orlando Pirates, South Africa)

Midfielders: Frank Onyeka (Brentford FC, England); Joseph Ayodele-Aribo (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Chidera Ejuke (CSKA Moscow, Russia); Kelechi Nwakali (SD Huesca, Spain)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Fatih Karagumruk, Turkey); Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal FC, Spain); Victor Osimhen (Napoli FC, Italy); Moses Simon (FC Nantes, France); Sadiq Umar (UD Almeria, Spain); Taiwo Awoniyi (Union Berlin, Germany); Odion Jude Ighalo (Al-Shabab Riyadh, Saudi Arabia); Alex Iwobi (Everton FC, England); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Emmanuel Dennis (Watford FC, England)