Skip to content

New EU travel permit set to be introduced for Spain, France, Italy and Turkey

Travel news. You could be barred from arriving at your destination if you don’t have the right documents in place. Here’s what you need to know about the new EU travel permit:

A new EU travel permit will soon be needed for entering certain European countries such as Spain, France, Italy and Turkey.

EU travel permit: When does it come into effect?

Set to come into force in 2024, the European Travel Information and Authorisation System (ETIAS) is a travel permit that will cost around €7 for those over the age of 18.

Currently, people from the UK don’t need a visa to enter countries in the Schengen area – most of Europe. But now, holidaymakers have been warned that they could be barred from travelling if the don’t have ETIAS in place.

Wales Online reports that the ETIAS will be introduced later this year and be fully implemented in 2024. It is a completely electronic system that allows and keeps track of visitors from countries who do not need a visa to enter the Schengen Zone.

With the ETIAS rule, UK citizens can stay in Europe for up to 90 days within a 180-period. It’s valid for 3 years and you get to travel to Europe multiple times.

“Recent security concerns with terrorism and the migrant crisis have called for better management of who is entering EU borders. The EU has continuously declared its goal of making travelling within its borders a more secure experience. To reduce procedures and wait times and address security concerns, the European Commission (EC) has come up with a solution – ETIAS,” wrote Daily Record to quote the EU.