Skip to content

Germany issues travel warning against non EU countries

German Chancellor Angela Merkel extended a travel warning for nations outside Europe through to the end of August and urged Germans to avoid non-essential travel to other countries and made emphasis on the UK.  German Foreign Minister Heiko Maas said that the country is to maintain a 3-month old warning against travel for tourists to countries outside the European Union, the passport free Schengen area and the UK. this comes as Germans are being warned to avoid travel to the UK due to the area being a hotspot for coronavirus cases.

At the same time, Interior Minister Horst Seehofer said that police will immediately begin scaling back checks on arrivals from Denmark, Austria, Switzerland, France and Italy, introduced to stem the spread of the coronavirus, and that they will be lifted completely by June 15. Controls on flight arrivals from Spain will be maintained until June 21, he said. “With this decision, there is no longer a general requirement for a compelling reason to enter Germany from other EU states,” Seehofer’s ministry said in an emailed statement, adding that this also includes non-EU members Norway, Liechtenstein, Iceland and the UK.

The effects on the lockdown hit heavily on the economy leading to recessions and hasty relief budgets to manage the country, travel can be one way of reviving the EU economies and regaining a new normal to life.