Skip to content

Coronavirus: 17 Kenyan Legislators test positive

17 members of the Kenyan parliament have tested positive for the novel coronavirus leading to panic within the house.

The legislators are among 52 members of the senate and national assembly who received their results on Tuesday from the Ministry of Health after taking the voluntary tests last week.

 According to multiple sources, the Ministry of Health told the Speakers to cancel the special sitting of both Houses because some of the MPs had tested positive.

The Kenya National Assembly, through its clerk Michael Sialai, submitted the lawmakers’ names last week to the Ministry of Health for testing.

Among those who were subjected to test and mandatory quarantine included members of the Justice and Legal Affairs Committee and the Delegated Legislation Committee.

“They are suspecting 17 Members of Parliament have been tested and turned positive. The information is not clear but its members and staff. So that is the reason why the House was suspended,” a legislator said on condition of anonymity.

The two committees with a combined membership of 38 held a joint sitting on March 17 in the presence of Rabai MP Kamoti Mwamkale, who has since tested positive.

Others included those who attended the burial of Msambweni MP Suleiman Dori on March 9 and came into contact with Kilifi Deputy Governor Gideon Saburi.

The Governor has since recovered from coronavirus but has been charged for ignoring government’s directive for the mandatory 14 days of self-quarantine.

Read also:COVID-19: Germany introduces new quarantine laws

In the Senate, members who had travelled outside the country in the past 30 days were also tested and given back their results.


  1. John Mbadi
  2. Caleb Kositany
  3. James Orengo
  4. Omar Mwinyi
  5. Junet Mohammed
  6. Gladys Boss Shollei
  7. Irungu Kangata
  8. Mwinyihaji Mohammed
  9. Simba Arati
  10. Imran Okoth
  11. Sylvanus Maritim
  12. Godfrey Otsotsi
  13. Caleb Amisi
  14. Issa Juma Boy
  15. Khatib Mwashetani
  16. Benjamin Tayari and
  17. Kassim Tandaza.

Members; Issa Juma Boy, Khatib Mwashetani, Benjamin Tayari and Kassim Tandaza however contracted the virus whilstpaying their last respects at Suleimani Dori’s burial.

It is alleged that the speaker made the announcement late in the evening to protect other members from contracting the virus.

Read also:Boris Johnson admitted to hospital over coronavirus symptoms

On March 17, Senate Majority Leader Kipchumba Murkomen caused panic in the chamber after he said that some members of the House travelled in the same plane with a person who was confirmed to have contracted the disease.

Other members of staff led themselves to self-quarantine. They include Eldas MP Adan Kenya, Naomi Shaban (Taita Taveta), Aaron Cheruiyot (Kericho) and George Khaniri (Vihiga).

They had travelled to the UK and jetted back early last month.